Write-in vote for PR council seat a 3-way tie

PORT ROYAL – The write-in vote to elect a new member of the Port Royal Town Council ended in a three-way tie.

That means a drawing will be held to determine who gets the seat.

Rosie Upshaw, Joseph Fisher, and Della Mills each received four votes in Tuesday’s election. Upshaw currently holds the seat but did not file to run for re-election.

According to county election officials, a drawing will be held in the near future to break the tie. The drawing apparently will be conducted by Caroline County Circuit Court Clerk Ray Campbell.

Three other people received one or two write-in votes – Jessica Quisenberry, Charles McGuire, and Danny Martin.

Other members of the council had no opposition and were re-elected. They are Monica Chenault, Oliver Fortune, Jim Heimbach, Bill Henderson, Nancy Long, and Bill Wick.

Long, the town’s mayor, led the incumbents with 45 votes. Chenault received the fewest votes of any of the incumbents, 24.

Posted on Friday, November 9, 2012 at 9:42 am