The Caroline Progress

Follow Us On:

State Police will be on the look-out for impaired drivers

Posted on Tuesday, December 31, 2013 at 11:41 am

Virginia State Police (VSP) will be stepping up patrols New Year’s Eve to detect and deter impaired drivers on Virginia’s highways.

If you are convicted for the first time of drunk driving, you will lose your driver’s license for a year. If your blood-alcohol is between 0.15 percent and 0.20 percent, it’s a mandatory five days in jail, plus additional penalties.

Since Thanksgiving, troopers have been participating in the annual VSP Checkpoint Strikeforce ( anti-driving-under-the-influence enforcement campaign and the “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” holiday crackdown (

Respectively, both are state and national enforcement operations conducted annually during the holidays that focus on the dangers and prevention of drunk and drugged driving. More DUI patrols by state police troopers and participation in local DUI checkpoints will be taking place throughout the evening and overnight hours of Dec. 31, 2013, statewide.

As of Dec. 30, 2013, preliminary reports indicate that more than 720 individuals have lost their lives in traffic crashes on Virginia highways this year, the VSP reported. In order to prevent anyone else from becoming another fatal statistic, it’s going to take the help and responsible decision-making of every motorist heading out for New Year’s Eve.

There’s nothing wrong with enjoying yourself at a party. What is wrong is having an impaired driver making the improper choice to get behind the wheel of a vehicle and drive, the VSP said. If you’re going to drink alcohol, then designate a sober driver in advance to get you home safely or call a taxi, take advantage of public transportation, or simply stay put.

Whatever you do, don’t drink alcohol and drive. According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, in 2012 nationwide, deaths in crashes involving drunk drivers increased 4.6 percent, taking 10,322 lives compared to 9,865 in 2011. The majority of those crashes involved drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or higher – nearly double the legal limit.

During last year’s holiday season alone, 830 lives were lost in drunk driving crashes in America.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the holiday enforcement on drunk drivers comes at a time of year when crashes involving alcohol increase. Over the past decade, almost two of every five (41 percent) deaths that occur around the New Year’s holiday and the Christmas holiday (37 percent) were alcohol-impaired, compared to 31 percent nationally over the past 10 years.

In addition, alcohol-impaired motor vehicle crashes cost more than an $37 billion annually nationwide.

In addition, drivers are reminded to always buckle up, put down the phone, and comply with speed limits. Staying alert to the traffic around, ahead, and behind you helps save lives.

With this holiday’s stepped up enforcement, all drivers are also reminded of Virginia’s “Move Over” law. It’s a life-saving law intended to protect public safety responders and others who have a responsibility to work alongside Virginia’s highways. Drivers are required by law to change to another travel lane or, when unable to, to cautiously pass emergency personnel stopped on the side of the road. The law also includes highway maintenance vehicles and tow trucks equipped with flashing amber lights.

Here are the penalties for drunk driving convictions in Virginia: for DUI first offense: mandatory, minimum $250 fine and driver’s license revocation for one year.

  • Conviction for DUI second offense: mandatory, minimum $500 fine, driver’s license revocation for three years and possible jail term up to one year.
  • Conviction for DUI second offense within ten years of prior offense carries the following additional penalty: mandatory, minimum ten-day jail term.
  • Conviction for DUI second offense within five years of prior offense carries the following additional penalty: mandatory, minimum 20-day jail term.
  • Blood/alcohol content reading of 0.15 percent and not higher than 0.20 percent at the time of arrest: First offense carries a mandatory, minimum five-day jail term in addition to all other penalties. Second offense within ten years carries a mandatory, minimum 10-day jail term in addition to all other penalties.