The Caroline Progress

Follow Us On:

The National Junior Honor Society’s new class of scholars

Posted on Thursday, April 27, 2017 at 12:45 pm

By Shoshannah Childs

CP Reporter

The evening of April 24 was wet and gloomy, but inside the auditorium of Caroline Middle School the hearts of those in attendance were bright and shiny. Inside CMS shined the accomplishments of the new members to be inducted in the National Junior Honor Society. 43 Caroline Middle School Scholars were inducted into the prestigious honor society on April 24 at the induction ceremony.

The National Junior Honor Society’s website explains the following about the organization, “The National Junior Honor Society is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle level students. More than just an honor roll, NJHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1929.”

Since 1929, over more than one million students participate in official Honor Society activities. NHS and NJHS chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories, and Canada. The organization does not just focus on the academic achievements of students, but their community service involvement.

The NJHS is grounded in five pillars: scholarship, service, citizenship, character and leadership. The guest speaker, Dr. William Noel Sr. inspired students by focusing on those five pillars. “Scholarship is the commitment to your learning and therefore a commitment to your future. I challenge you to be a lifelong learner,” Noel expressed.

“To be a leader is to lead and not boss. A boss sits in the back, barking orders while everyone else works. I challenge you to be leaders,” he continued.

The following students recited the induction pledge to uphold the purpose of the National Junior Honor Society, to remain loyal to their school and to uphold high standards of scholarship; service; leadership; character and citizenship: Reanna Ahnen, Laila Arnshoff, Tyler Bevan, Jacob Blevins, Ashley Breese, Brianna Cooksey, Kellen Cuevas, Kalista Driggers, Kennedy Drumm, Braiden Fletcher, Arka, Gray, Christianna Gray, Rowan Heagney, Alita Hix, Kaylin Hofmann, Amayah James, Amanda Joyce, Sean Kenny, Kayla Kinard, Jasmyne Lewis, Emma Mahaney, Lilly Mahaney, Megyn McCoy, Gabriela Mont, Heciel Nieves-Bonilla, Hassanatou Nimaga, Amanda Norman, Adrianna Patterson, Taylor Peterson, Shanyi Pierre, Shiyah Pierre, LaMarrio Pittman Jr., Breanna Ralls, Nevaeh Randolph, Justin Simulcik, Faith Smith, Hope Smith, Cassidy Southworth, Shamia Stevens, Holly Trout, Riley Wallace and Aleksandra Witkowski.

“Being inducted into the National Junior Honor Society reflects more than academic achievement, it is a testimony of your integrity, constructive idea and outstanding citizenship. Parents in a real sense, you share this honor with your child. You have provided the foundation of character, encouragement and support that have made your son or daughter into an outstanding student,” Jordyn Rollins-Williams expressed to inductees and their parents.